The Four Loves

C. S. Lewis, The Four Loves (1960)

The Four Loves (1960)

Jan 7, 2022

Love, Pain, Grief, and Joy: Vol. 1, The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis

Over the course of his life, C.S. Lewis wrote several books addressing the most complex and universal human experiences—love, pain, and grief. In this week’s episode, Drs. Crystal and David C. Downing sit down with scholar and close friend of the podcast, Dr. Jerry Root, to discuss The Four Loves (1960) by C.S. Lewis. How does Lewis define philia, storge, eros, and agape? Are his definitions accurate? What is the difference between Gift-love and Need-love? Is Need-love bad? How can love be corrupted? Do earthly loves distract from love for God?

External links: